Fire Warden

Newcastle International Airport Training Academy are accredited to deliver Level 2 & 3 QualSafe awards (RQF)Qualsafe Awards is one of the largest Ofqual recognised Awarding Organisations in the UK and has been voted the UK’s Best Business (SME) 2018. When credibility and quality are paramount our QualSafe qualifications give you confidence that we meet regulatory standards.

This one-day Fire Warden Training course is more in depth than Fire Awareness training and is aimed at all members of staff working within organisations across a wide range of sectors. The course is especially useful to those with a designated responsibility for fire safety, such as individuals who have been identified in your emergency plans as having a supervisory role in the event of a fire. It's also valuable for those intending to promote professional development within the area of fire risk management.

Watch to see more:

Our courses include:

QA Level 1 Award Fire Safety Awareness (RQF)

The QA Level 1 Award in Fire Safety Awareness (RQF) is a regulated and nationally recognised qualification designed for those who want to increase their awareness of fire safety in the workplace. Candidates will learn basic fire safety principles in order to ensure they are keeping themselves and others in the workplace safe at all times. They will also learn what to do in the event of an emergency and the simple measures that can be taken to control the risk of fires. With subjects covered in just half a day, this course is an ideal way to ensure that all employees have a good understanding of fire safety, whilst minimising disruption to your organisation’s day to day activity.

The course syllabus covers:

  • Causes of fires in the workplace
  • The costs of fires in the workplace for employers, employees and society
  • Basic fire safety duties and responsibilities
  • Actions to be taken in the event of a fire
  • Principles of fire risk control
  • Key elements for effective fire risk management
  • The fire triangle and controlling fire risks
  • Fire risk control measures
  • Fire prevention measures
  • Safe use of portable fire-fighting equipment
  • Fire safety equipment checks
QA Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (RQF) (Fire Warden / Marshal)

The QA Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (RQF) is a regulated and nationally recognised qualification that has been specifically designed for anyone who has a specific responsibility for fire safety in the workplace, such as designated fire wardens/fire marshals. Successful candidates will gain an understanding of fire safety management at work and the specific roles and responsibilities related to fire safety in the workplace.

The course syllabus covers:

  • Causes of fires in the workplace
  • The fire triangle
  • Hazards during and after a fire
  • Fire and smoke spread
  • Identifying and controlling fire hazards:
    • Fire prevention
    • Fire detection and raising the alarm
    • Means of escape
    • Principles of extinguishing fires
    • Fire-fighting equipment and systems
  • Fire safety laws
  • Duties and responsibilities of employers and employees
  • Undertaking a fire safety inspection
  • Fire safety risk assessments
  • Contents of a fire safety briefing
  • Roles and responsibilities of the nominated fire warden:
    • On a day-to-day basis
    • During an emergency


Course Dates:

  • 8th February
  • 22nd February
  • 30th March
  • 27th April

Additional dates and bespoke courses can be arranged to suit your requirements if the above dates are unsuitable. Please contact us below for further information.

The course material and handouts are used in conjunction with current workplace fire safety legislation and guidance and as a result meets the training requirements detailed in the Department for Communities and Local Government guidance and current workplace fire safety legislation.

For more information or to book please click here

You can also find out more or secure your place on a course by emailing [email protected] or calling (0191) 214 3337.