Local Authorities

Newcastle International Airport is part-owned by seven local authorities in the North East.

Durham County Council

Durham County Council is the unitary council responsible for providing the majority of local authority services in County Durham. The council also represents and promotes the interests of County Durham when dealing with regional, national and international affairs.

Durham County Council allows local people to look after their own affairs and to decide how and where money is best spent in their area.

Gateshead Council

The Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead is a metropolitan borough of Tyne and Wear. The district has some 190,000 inhabitants and lies within the historic county boundaries of County Durham. It is home to the Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, the Sage Gateshead, and the Anthony Gormley structure, the Angel of the North.

Newcastle City Council

Newcastle City Council is the local government authority for Newcastle upon Tyne. Historically the county town of Northumberland, it is situated on the north bank of the River Tyne around nine miles from the North Sea.

North Tyneside Council

North Tyneside is a metropolitan borough of Tyne and Wear in North East England and is part of the Tyneside conurbation. Its seat is Wallsend Town Hall.

North Tyneside is bounded by Newcastle upon Tyne to the west, the North Sea to the east, the River Tyne to the south and Northumberland to the north. Within its bounds are the towns of Wallsend, North Shields and Whitley Bay.


Northumberland County Council

Northumberland County Council is a unitary authority in the north of the North East region, bordering Scotland. Northumberland is largely rural, and is the least densely populated county in England. The county is a popular tourist destination due to its scenic beauty and historical significance.

South Tyneside Council

South Tyneside is a metropolitan borough in Tyne and Wear, with South Shields as its main administrative centre and largest town.

South Tyneside Council's role is to champion and represent the social, economic and environmental well-being of the area. This role as a community leader is based on the council's position as the locally elected democratic body.

Sunderland City Council

The Council is the body elected by the people of Sunderland to organise the provision of services to meet their needs.

The City of Sunderland is a local government district of Tyne and Wear with the status of a city and metropolitan borough. It is named after its largest settlement, Sunderland, but covers a far larger area which includes the towns of Hetton-le-Hole, Houghton-le-Spring, Washington, and a range of suburban villages.